Who are we?

Since 1951, Delpire Éditeur has been publishing books of extremely high quality, devoted essentially to photography.

Having broken new ground by publishing the work of William Klein, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Marc Riboud, Robert Frank and others, the house then paved the way for artists whose essential status would soon be recognized, such as Josef Koudelka, Sarah Moon, Michel Vanden Eeckhoudt and, more recently, Daido Moriyama.

Now with a treasure chest of over 60 titles on the backlist, the team is still putting its passion, savoir-faire and high standards at artists’ service. Each book is a unique object, conceived to help bring an artist’s oeuvre to a wider audience and make it an integral part of our live. Above and beyond sensibilities, outlooks and trends; open to all styles and genres, Delpire Éditeur’s goal remains unchanged: that each and every book we create be an opening onto the world around us, as well as onto the one within. In 2012, Delpire Éditeur joined the photography branch of the Libella Publishing Group. The branch also includes Photosynthèses Éditions and the Folia Gallery.

© Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos Assis, de gauche à droite : Robert Delpire, Sarah Moon, Martine Franck. Debout : Jeanloup Sieff, Jacques-Henri Lartigue, Henri Cartier-Bresson. 3 février 1973.

Our story

Delpire Éditeur, founded in 1951, was run by Robert Delpire for over sixty years. Recognized as a genius with images, he made significant contributions to the history of photography.

His publishing house’s story begins with the creation of Neuf, an art magazine that brought together texts, photos and illustrations of the highest quality: Breton and André François, Arthur Miller and Picasso and more. Over the years, the house has created several collections – like Maestro, Photo Poche and Des images et des mots – an eclectic mix, except that they all have the same ambition: “to surprise the eye” and propose a reflection on images as graphic art. As encouraging dialogue between photography and words is another one of the house’s vocations, the books often unite photographs with texts by remarkable authors – well-known thinkers, novelists, poets, etc. – such as Yves Bonnefoy, Michel Deguy, Jean-Paul Sartre and Erik Orsenna.

“A good book or a good exhibit should situate a work of art to the maximum of what it is, not explain, but make the artist’s intentions limpid...”

Robert Delpire
Henri Cartier-Bresson photographe, collection « Maestro ».

Delpire Éditeur had soon published the work of some of the most emblematic artists of the 20th century: Cartier-Bresson, Brassaï, Doisneau, Lartigue, Bischof... In 1958, the publication of Robert Frank’s The Americans (which Delpire published first, before the American edition) was seen as a true innovation. For photography lovers, the book became a cult object. Then Koudelka, Witkin, Sarah Moon, Ernest Pignon-Ernest and, more recently, Daido Moriyama all naturally found their place in the catalogue, expanding the house’s territory.

Juste un peu flou from Robert Capa, collection « Des images et des mots ».

Alongside this passionate exploration of photography, the catalogue also opened up to illustration with the publication of books for children – including such classics as Maurice Sendak’s Where the Wild Things Are and André François’s Crocodile Tears – as well as for adults with the Illustrators in the Paperback Illustrators Collection, which focuses on great illustrators, living and dead (from Grandville and Daumier to Anderson, Georges Lemoine and more).

André François, collection « Poche illustrateur ».

Robert Delpire has retired now, but his house’s purpose remains the same: developing reflections about images and photography and introducing all of their facets – from the oldest to the most recent – to a broad audience. From yesterday to tomorrow, photography has never ceased and will never cease to evolve and to reflect the colors of its times. But there will always be images to show!

© Sarah Moon, Robert Delpire.

robert delpire

Born in 1928, Robert Delpire worked as a publisher, an artistic director, a curator and a film producer.

  1. 1951
  2. He founds the publishing house that bears his name, and publishes the work of Cartier-Bresson, Brassaï, Doisneau, Lartigue, Bischof and more.
  3. 1960
  4. He founds an advertising agency that is part of the Advico Group, and that handles a great number of international clients.
  5. 1963
  6. He opens the gallery on Rue de l’Abbaye, in the heart of literary and artistic Paris, where he shows major photographers, such as Koudelka, Smith, Khün and others, often for the first time in Europe, as well as illustrators and graphic designers.
  7. 1982-1996
  8. He is the director of the Centre National de la Photographie.
  9. 1982
  10. He launches the famous Photopoche (PocketPhoto) collection, a revolution in photography books. The collection now belongs to the Actes Sud publishing house.
  11. 1995
  12. He is awarded the Royal Photographic Society’s Centenary Medal.
  13. 2009
  14. He is honored with a retrospective of his career at the Rencontres Photographiques d’Arles and the Maison Européenne de la Photographie. Throughout his life, Robert Delpire has organized, curated and consulted on shows for museums around the world. He has been received numerous distinctions, including: Commander of Arts and Letters, Gold Medal for Graphic Arts, the Nadar Prize and the Advertising Grand Prix.

By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies for visitor statistics, targeted advertising and sharing on social networks.
You can block cookies by changing your settings.

I AGREE Find out more

Qui sommes-nous?

Depuis 1951, Delpire Éditeur publie des ouvrages de grande qualité consacrés essentiellement à la photographie.

Après avoir, de manière pionnière, publié les œuvres de William Klein, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Marc Riboud ou Robert Frank, la maison a creusé le sillon d’artistes devenus incontournables comme Josef Koudelka, Sarah Moon ou Michel Vanden Eeckhoudt, et plus récemment Daido Moriyama.

Aujourd’hui riche de plus de soixante titres, l’équipe continue de mettre son exigence, son savoir-faire et sa passion au service des artistes. Chaque livre est un objet unique, conçu pour faire rayonner une œuvre et l’inscrire dans nos vies. Au-delà des sensibilités, des regards, des écritures et, sans exclusion de styles ou de genres, l’ambition de Delpire Éditeur demeure inchangée : créer des livres comme autant d’ouvertures sur le monde qui nous entoure comme sur notre monde intérieur. Depuis 2012, Delpire Éditeur a rejoint le pôle photographique du groupe Libella qui rassemble les éditions Photosynthèses et la galerie Folia.

© Henri Cartier-Bresson / Magnum Photos Assis, de gauche à droite : Robert Delpire, Sarah Moon, Martine Franck. Debout : Jeanloup Sieff, Jacques-Henri Lartigue, Henri Cartier-Bresson. 3 février 1973.

Notre histoire

Delpire Éditeur, fondé en 1951, a été dirigé par Robert Delpire pendant plus de soixante ans. L’homme, reconnu comme un génie de l’image, a eu un apport considérable dans l’histoire de la photographie.

La maison voit le jour avec la création de Neuf, une revue d’art qui réunit des textes, des photographies et des illustrations de grande qualité : Breton et André François, Arthur Miller et Picasso… Au fil des années, de nombreuses collections voient le jour – comme Maestro, Photo Poche ou Des images et des mots –, très éclectiques mais avec toujours la même ambition : « étonner l’oeil », proposer une réflexion sur l’image en tant qu’art graphique. Faire dialoguer la photographie et les mots étant une autre vocation des éditions, les ouvrages associent très souvent aux photographes des textes d’auteurs remarquables – penseurs, romanciers, poètes, etc. – tels Yves Bonnefoy, Michel Deguy, Jean-Paul Sartre ou Erik Orsenna.

« Un bon livre ou une bonne exposition doivent situer une œuvre au maximum de ce qu’elle est, ne pas expliquer, rendre limpides les intentions de l’artiste… »

Robert Delpire
Henri Cartier-Bresson photographe, collection « Maestro ».

Delpire Éditeur publie rapidement les œuvres d’artistes parmi les plus emblématiques du xxe siècle : Cartier-Bresson, Brassaï, Doisneau, Lartigue, Bischof… Dès 1958, la parution des Américains de Robert Frank est considérée comme une véritable novation, et l’ouvrage devient, pour tous les amoureux de la photographie, un livre culte. Puis Josef Koudelka, Joel-Peter Witkin, Sarah Moon, Ernest Pignon-Ernest et, plus récemment, Daido Moriyama trouvent naturellement leur place au catalogue, élargissant encore le territoire de la maison.

Juste un peu flou de Robert Capa, collection « Des images et des mots ».

En parallèle à cette exploration amoureuse de la photographie, le catalogue s’ouvre à l’illustration, avec la publication de livres pour les enfants – parmi lesquels on retrouve des albums célèbres tels Max et les maximonstres de Maurice Sendak ou Les Larmes de crocodile d’André François – et pour les adultes avec la collection Poche Illustrateur qui met à l’honneur les grands noms de l’illustration (de Grandville et Daumier à Anderson ou Georges Lemoine).

André François, collection « Poche illustrateur ».

Aujourd’hui, Robert Delpire s’est retiré mais l’ambition de la maison reste la même : développer une réflexion sur l’image et la photographie et en faire connaître tous les aspects, des plus anciens aux plus récents, auprès d’un large public. D’hier à demain, la photographie ne cesse d’évoluer, et de prendre les couleurs du temps. Mais il restera toujours des images à montrer !

© Sarah Moon, Robert Delpire.

robert delpire

Né en 1928, Robert Delpire est un éditeur, directeur artistique, commissaire d’expositions et producteur de films.

  1. 1951
  2. Il crée la maison d’édition qui porte son nom et publie les œuvres de Cartier-Bresson, Brassaï, Doisneau, Lartigue, Bischof…
  3. 1960
  4. Il crée une agence de publicité qui traite, au sein du groupe Advico, de nombreux budgets internationaux.
  5. 1963
  6. Il ouvre la galerie rue de l’Abbaye où il expose, souvent pour la première fois en Europe des grands photographes (Koudelka, Smith, Khün….) ainsi que de l’illustration et du graphisme.
  7. 1982-1996
  8. Il est directeur du Centre national de la photographie.
  9. 1982
  10. Il lance la collection Photopoche, une révolution dans l’édition photographie. Cette collection appartient aujourd’hui aux éditions Actes Sud.
  11. 1995
  12. Il reçoit la médaille du centenaire de la Royal Photographic Society.
  13. 2009
  14. Rétrospective de sa carrière aux rencontres photographiques d’Arles et à la Maison Européenne de la Photographie. Tout au long de sa vie, Robert Delpire organise et met en forme des expositions pour les musées du monde entier. Il reçoit plusieurs distinctions : commandeur des arts et lettres, médaille d’or des arts graphiques, Prix Nadar, Grand Prix de la Publicité.

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies pour réaliser des statistiques de visites, proposer des publicités ciblées et partager sur les réseaux sociaux.
Vous pouvez vous opposer à l’utilisation de cookies en modifiant vos paramètres.

J'accepte en savoir plus